Skip to product information
1 of 4

Lou Reed Archive

Hudson River Wind Meditations - Deluxe Edition with Glacial Blue LP

Hudson River Wind Meditations - Deluxe Edition with Glacial Blue LP

Regular price $55.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $55.00 USD
Sale Sold out

  • Release no. 2 in the Lou Reed Archive Series, following the multi-GRAMMY®-nominated Words & Music, May 1965
  • Produced in partnership with Light in the Attic, Laurie Anderson and the Lou Reed Archive
  • Lou’s final solo album finally available again
  • Remastered by GRAMMY®-nominated engineer John Baldwin
  • Package designed by multi-GRAMMY®-winning artist Masaki Koike
  • Double LP pressed at RTI
  • 20-page LP book featuring unseen photography by Lou, Q&A with Laurie Anderson & Jonathan Cott, essay by Eddie Stern, and archival interviews with Lou and Hal Willner


Deluxe Edition: limited to 500 units and includes:

  • Double LP pressed on Glacial Blue Wax
  • Five 8x10 photos of the Hudson River photographed by Lou Reed and printed on 10-pt High Gloss Kromekote C1S cover stock and housed in a glassine envelope
  • 24”x36” fold-out poster designed by Yolanda Cuomo


“I first composed this music for myself as an adjunct to meditation, Tai Chi, and bodywork, and as music to play in the background of life, to replace the everyday cacophony with new and ordered sounds of an unpredictable nature. New sounds freed from preconception. …over time, friends who heard the music asked if I could make them copies. I then wrote two more pieces with the same intent: to relax the body, mind, and spirit and facilitate meditation.” - Lou Reed

Lou Reed’s final solo album, Hudson River Wind Meditations, is one of his most personal musical works, combining Reed's love of creating drone music with his passion for Tai Chi, yoga and meditation. The album's ambient soundscapes have been described as a counterpoint to his intense Metal Machine Music album—but they are similar outliers in Reed's 40+ year exploration of drone music and feedback harmonics. It's for a certain time and place of mind.

The album has been remastered by the GRAMMY®-nominated engineer John Baldwin with vinyl pressed at Record Technology Inc. (RTI). The Double LP and CD releases are designed by GRAMMY®-winning artist, Masaki Koike and feature new liner notes by renowned Yoga instructor and author, Eddie Stern, who guided Reed’s practice for years. Also included in the physical editions is a fascinating conversation between author/journalist Jonathan Cott (Rolling Stone, The New Yorker) and Reed’s wife, artist Laurie Anderson, who discusses the album, as well as her husband’s devotion to Tai Chi – one of the album’s primary inspirations.

Hudson River Wind Meditations marks the latest release in LITA’s Lou Reed Archival Series. Launched in 2022 in tandem with the late artist’s 80th birthday, the ongoing series has celebrated one of America’s most influential songwriters through such acclaimed collections as Words & Music, May 1965 featuring many of Reed’s earliest (and previously-unreleased) recordings, including the earliest-known versions of “I’m Waiting for the Man” and “Pale Blue Eyes.”


Standard Black Vinyl Tracklisting:

  1. Move Your Heart (28:56)
  2. Find Your Note (31:35)
  3. Hudson River Wind (Blend the Ambience) (1:51)
  4. Wind Coda (5:23)
View full details